• November 21, 2011

  • January 12, 2012

  • Coming Soon

    February 1, 2012

  • February 8, 2012

Starter Set Giveaway!

Anyone (in the United States or Canada) who signs up for The Reagan Arthur Book Challenge before February 28, 2010 is eligible to win an awesome Reagan Arthur Books Prize Pack. This awesome starter set of books will include:

The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris

Marriage and Other Acts of Charity by Kate Braestrup

Doors Open by Ian Rankin

Black Hills by Dan Simmons

Still Midnight by Denise Mina

Next by James Hynes

Thanks to Miriam from Hachette Books for sponsoring this giveaway!

Patterns of Paper Monsters

PATTERNS OF PAPER MONSTERS by Emma Rathbone will be published on August 9, 2010.

About the author:

Emma Rathbone is a graduate of New York University and the MFA Fiction Program at the University of Virginia. She currently lives in Charlottesville and is beginning work on a second novel.

The Messenger of Athens

THE MESSENGER OF ATHENS by Anne Zouroudi will be published on July 19, 2010.  Here’s the publisher’s description:

Idyllic but remote, the Greek island of Thiminos seems untouched and untroubled by the modern world.  So when the battered body of a young woman is discovered at the foot of a cliff, the local police are quick to dismiss her death as an accident.

Then a stranger arrives, uninvited, from Athens, announcing his intention to investigate further.  Hermes Diaktoros’s methods of investigation are unorthodox, and before long, he’s uncovering a tale of passion, corruption, and murder.  But Hermes brings his own mystery into the web of dark secrets and lies.  Who has sent him to Thiminos, and on whose authority is he acting?  And how does he know of dramas played out decades ago?

About the author:

Anne Zouroudi was born in England and has lived in the Greek islands. Her attachment to Greece remains strong, the country is the inspiration for much of her writing. She now lives in northern England.

The Island

THE ISLAND by Elin Hilderbran will be published on July 6, 2010.

About the author:

Elin Hilderbrand lives on Nantucket with her husband and their three young children. She grew up in Collegeville, PA, and traveled extensively before settling on Nantucket, which has been the setting for her eight previous novels. Hilderbrand is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and the graduate fiction workshop at the University of Iowa.

Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English

MR. ROSENBLUM DREAMS IN ENGLISH by Natasha Solomons will be published on June 21, 2010.

About the author:

Natasha Solomons is a 29-year-old screenwriter. She based this story on her own grandparents’ experience.

The Rehearsal

THE REHEARSAL by Eleanor Catton will be published on May 17, 2010.  Here’s the publisher’s description:

A teacher’s affair with his underage student jolts a group of teenage girls into a new awareness of their own power.  As the girls vent to their saxophone teacher while practicing for an upcoming recital, they voice their own longings in ways that, in time-honored adolescent tradition, involve heavy emotion and high drama.  And, in truth, the scandal’s notoriety seems to have turned every act into a performance, every platform into a stage.

But when the local drama school turns the story into their year-end show, the real world and the world of the theater are forced to meet.  With both performances approaching, the boundaries between dramas real and staged, private and public, begin to dissolve.

The Rehearsal is a provocative novel about the complications of human desire and marks the arrival of a boldly inventive and extraordinarily accomplished new voice in contemporary fiction.

About the author:

Born in Canada and raised in New Zealand, Eleanor Catton, 23, is the recipient of the 2008 Glenn Schaeffer Fellowship to study at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop in Iowa City, where she now lives.

Still Midnight

STILL MIDNIGHT by Denise Mina will published on March 22, 2010.  Here’s the publisher’s description:

Alex Morrow is not new to the police force-or to crime-but there is nothing familiar about the call she has just received. On a still night in a quiet suburb of Glasgow, Scotland, three armed men have slipped from a van into a house, demanding a man who is not, and has never been, inside the front door. In the confusion that ensues, one family member is shot and another kidnapped, the assailants demanding an impossible ransom. Is this the amateur crime gone horribly wrong that it seems, or something much more unexpected?

As Alex falls further into the most challenging case of her career, Denise Mina proves why “if you don’t read crime novels, Mina is your reason to change” (Rocky Mountain News).

About the author:

Denise Mina is the author of Slip of the Knife, The Dead Hour, Field of Blood, Deception, and the Garnethill trilogy, the first installment of which won her the John Creasey Memorial Prize for best first crime novel. She lives in Glasgow.