• November 21, 2011

  • January 12, 2012

  • Coming Soon

    February 1, 2012

  • February 8, 2012

Announcing the Started Early, Took My Dog read-along

Kate Atkinson’s newest book, STARTED EARLY, TOOK MY DOG, is being released on March 21, and we’re so excited about it, we asked the fine folks at Hachette if we could host a read-along for it and they were kind enough to say yes! They’re offering a copy of the book to the first 10 Reagan Arthur Books Challenge participants to sign up!

We’ll post some discussions questions on April 12, 2011 and ask that everyone who receives a book come back to chat.  We plan to keep it informal and hope it will be fun for everyone involved.  Here’s the publisher’s description of the book:

Tracy Waterhouse leads a quiet, ordered life as a retired police detective-a life that takes a surprising turn when she encounters Kelly Cross, a habitual offender, dragging a young child through town. Both appear miserable and better off without each other-or so decides Tracy, in a snap decision that surprises herself as much as Kelly. Suddenly burdened with a small child, Tracy soon learns her parental inexperience is actually the least of her problems, as much larger ones loom for her and her young charge.

Meanwhile, Jackson Brodie, the beloved detective of novels such as Case Histories, is embarking on a different sort of rescue-that of an abused dog. Dog in tow, Jackson is about to learn, along with Tracy, that no good deed goes unpunished.

If you’ve signed up for the Reagan Arthur Book Challenge (remember….it’s not too late to join) and would like a copy of the book so that you can participate, fill out this form.   Anyone can join in the chat, but you must be a member of the challenge to sign up for a book.

8 Responses

  1. Thank you for the offer, I am so excited. I have been enjoying the RA Books Challenge and have not read one I did not care for, which says quite a lot.

  2. I may have filled out the form twice, I only meant to once (obviously). I am looking forward to the read-a-long.

  3. Would love to join the read-a-long. (Filled out the form). Thanks for hosting.

  4. I’d love to participate in the read-a-long! Thanks!

  5. Let me know if I’m among the first 10 — I bet not.

  6. Would love to participate! Thanks!

    – Rena

  7. I love the title of the book, and it sounds like a fun challenge!

  8. I thought I was pre-ordering it this week. Imagine my surprise when it showed up on the doorstep yesterday. Started it tonight and am already 100 pages in. I don’t want to put it down!

Leave a Reply

